100 Free Copies of My New eBook: Thirteen Short Chapters on Remote Sensing

cover 13 chapters final.003= offer now closed = book now for sale in Amazon and as an iBook =  thanks everyone for downloading = if you liked it, please “share” =

I’m giving away 100 copies of my new (self-published) eBook, “Thirteen Short Chapters on Remote Sensing”.  It’s on a first-come-first-served basis, and the offer only lasts for today, but if you are a regular follower of my blog or Twitter feed, you should get this earlier than most, so be quick!

(It is best that you search for this title rather than giving a link, as it is region-specific, but this is the UK link and I think this is the US link).

If you get a free copy and you like it, then the one thing I ask in return is that you write an honest review of the book on the Amazon page.  If you would genuinely recommend it to people, then please share, like, tweet, or whatever, the direct link, or better still, a link to this blog post.

If you find any errors/typos, please comment below.   One has just been found, but I think it is only one! I will update it tomorrow.  A free bar of chocolate if you can find a second one (I’m confident there is only one).

It is in Amazon Kindle format.  You don’t need a Kindle to read it, but you do need a Kindle viewer (available for iOS, Android and desktops).

Here is the contents:

1. Defining remote sensing and Earth observation
2. Some thoughts on grammar
3. Conceptual frameworks: seeing vs hearing
4. Two things that can give remote sensing a bad name
5. The forward problem (modelling)
6. The inverse problem
7. Impulse Response Function
8. Resolution
9. Precision vs accuracy
10. Error, noise and uncertainty
11. Occam’s Razor
12. EO and greenhouse effect
13. Who pays for remote sensing?

12 Comments

  1. Hi Iain,

    great job! The contents looks promising 🙂 I’d like to have one of the books, but can’t access the UK or US store from here. Is there another way I could get the book from you? And yes, I will spread the word and come back to if there are typos or things like misconceptions on the nature of RADAR backscatter 😉

      1. I can find and access the book, but when I try to “buy” it using my Swiss Amazon-account, it will tell me that the product is not available in my country.

    1. I checked the list. Switzerland is definitely on the list of KDP countries. Not sure why that is. Is that through .de or .com ? Or other? (people have definitely downloaded from .de already)

  2. I’m really looking forward to going through this as I found your book on microwave remote sensing very readable. (I was successful downloading from the Canadian website btw). For the chocolate bar maybe ;), I found a typo at location 377 of 814. “It does not represent your knowledge of what it (is) going on….”

    I’m just skimming now but will finish reading as I find some time.

    Thanks for the free copy.
    Ray

  3. I’m in, book ordered! Looks like an interesting book Iain, and a good venture into the eBook format – makes it very accessible. Looking forward to reading it.

  4. Thanks for all your comments and corrections. Corrections have been implemented and now uploading.
    Please remember to do a Customer Review on Amazon. 🙂

  5. Yo quiero el libro Gratis, me comprometo a leerlo por completo, puedo hacer las correcciones que pueda y te puedo ayudar sin ningun interés, mi primer trabajo sobre teledetección lo realice el año 1971, si hace 41 años atrás y me gane una Beca del Gobierno de HOLANDA y es muy simple, solo quería conocer el bosque y ver la posibilidad de construir una Hidroelectrica, mi correo es alberto.enrique7@gmail.com.(Lima-Perú-Sud America)
    No aprendí más por no saber ingles. Si puedo te regalo información sobre teledetección que yo he escrito pero que lo puedes incluir en tus próximos libros

  6. If you downloaded a free version and you are thinking of writing a customer review on Amazon (and please do!) then note that the Amazon guide for reviewers suggests that you declare that you got the book for free on a promo, so please add that info to your review. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a comment